Quick Answer: What Is The Construction Specifications Institute?

What is a construction specification?

Specifications describe the products, materials and work required by a construction contract. They do not include cost, quantity or drawn information, and so need to be read alongside other information such as quantities, schedules and drawings.

What is the Construction Specifications Institute CSI MasterFormat?

MasterFormat®, a publication of CSI and CSC, is a master list of numbers and titles classified by work results. It is primarily used to organize project manuals and detailed cost information, and to relate drawing notations to specifications.

What is the meaning of CSI in the construction world?

The Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) is a United States national association of more than 8,000 construction industry professionals who are experts in building construction and the materials used therein.

What is CSI certification?

CSI is the construction community’s authority on communication and construction documentation. Through CSI’s Certification Programs, you can develop both a conceptual understanding of the entire construction process and concrete skills in: Communication with the design and contracting teams.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: What Does Cat Stand For In Construction?

What are the 3 types of construction?

Broadly, there are three sectors of construction: buildings, infrastructure and industrial: Building construction is usually further divided into residential and non-residential.

What are the three types of specifications?

Generally, there are three different types of construction specifications found in contracts: prescriptive specifications, performance specifications, and proprietary specifications.

What are the 16 divisions of construction?


  • Division 01 — General Requirement.
  • Division 02 — Existing Conditions.
  • Division 03 — Concrete.
  • Division 04 — Masonry.
  • Division 05 — Metals.
  • Division 06 — Wood and Plastics.
  • Division 07 — Thermal and Moisture Protection.
  • Division 08 — Doors and Windows.

What construction division is site work?

Site and Infrastructure Subgroup: Division 30 — RESERVED FOR FUTURE EXPANSION. Division 31 — Earthwork.

What is master format in construction?

MasterFormat® is a standard for organizing specifications and other written information for commercial and institutional building projects in the U.S. and Canada. MasterFormat® is used throughout the construction industry to format specifications for construction contract documents.

How do you become a CSI?

CSI candidates must meet the minimum requirements of the agency to which they are applying. CSIs typically need a bachelor’s degree in either a natural or forensic science, such as chemistry or biology, or in a field such as criminal justice, crime scene technology, or criminology.

What does CSI stand for?

CSI means “Crime Scene Investigation (TV)”.

Who uses MasterFormat?

Unlike localized building codes, MasterFormat is recognized and used throughout the United States and Canada as one set of standards that manufacturers build by and construction companies prepare for.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: How Much A Construction Worker Makes?

How many years does it take to become a CSI?

A:It can take you 2-4 years to become a crime scene investigator. Associate’s degree takes around two years. A Bachelor’s degree takes around four years and Master’s qualification takes around two years. However with the help of distance learning programs, students can complete these qualifications at their own pace.

What degree do I need for crime scene technician?

A Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice or a Master’s degree in Criminal Justice Leadership will best prepare a potential crime scene technician to become employed and promoted quickly. Many police officers who have graduated from the police academy become crime scene technicians.

What are 3 possible certifications a CSI can obtain?

Within the field of crime scene investigation, individuals may be certified in one of four designations:

  • Certified Senior Crime Scene Analyst.
  • Certified Crime Scene Reconstructionist.
  • Certified Crime Scene Investigator.
  • Certified Crime Scene Analyst.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *